What is Panchang? It’s Significance and Observance

 What is Panchang? It’s Significance and Observance

Panchang is the Hindu calendar that looks at information like Muhurta, Paksha, Vaar, Tithi, etc. In Hinduism, before doing any auspicious work, auspicious Muhurta is observed. Actually, it is believed that before any auspicious work, one must see the almanac. It is called Panchang because it is made up of five major parts. 

What is Panchang?
Hindu Panchang, also known as Hindu Calendar or Panchang. A collection of several lunisolar calendars widely used in Vedic astrology. It is a Sanskrit-inspired word. When divided into two parts, the first word, "Pancha" means five, and the second, "ang" means limbs. It is basically a way of stabilizing time, which varies depending on the sun or moon cycle, the names of the months, and the beginning of the new year. 

It lists auspicious and important dates along with illustrated astrological information in a tabular form. Apart from this, an almanac is made based on the position of stars, planets, and other celestial bodies. Panchang is considered to be the top priority before starting any auspicious work like worship, kundli matchmaking for marriage, business, celebration, etc.

Likewise, we will help you learn how to read the Panchang in 5 simple steps, including its significance, the words found in the Hindu calendar, as well as many other essential rules. It is a Hindu calendar that looks at information like Muhurta, Paksha, Vaar, Tithi, etc. 

Which calendar makes Panchang?
Most of the Indian festivals and fasts are observed according to the regional Hindu calendar which depends on two major elements – the solar calendar and the lunar calendar. These are collectively known as the lunisolar calendar.

People who are religious, and have faith in Vedic astrology, astrology, or the Vedas, follow the Panchang very keenly. Also, they celebrate New Year on the first day of the year according to the Panchang system. Believers go for special donations, pray and offer religious prayers on special occasions of a religiously significant calendar. Let us look at two types of calendars:

Solar Calendar: These calendars follow the planetary sun transit system. You can observe all Sankrantis according to the solar calendar.  

Lunar Calendars: Based on the lunar element, these calendars follow lunar transitions. In looking for auspicious times, lunar calendars play an important role. Also, Panchang comes under the category of the lunar calendar.

These are the five parts of Panchang
1. Nakshatra- There are 27 different types of constellations, according to astrology. The shubh muhurat is, however, also determined by taking into account a 28th Nakshatra. It's known as the Abhijeet Nakshatra. When buying a car, getting married, getting a degree, or entering a planetary system, nakshatras are visible.

2. Date- The second part of the calendar is the date. There are 16 types of dates. Among these, Purnima and Amavasya are two important dates. Both these dates definitely come once a month. According to the Hindi calendar, the month is divided into two parts, Shukla Paksha and Krishna Paksha. The period between Amavasya and Purnima is called Shukla Paksha. And the period between the full moon and the new moon is called Krishna Paksha.

By the way, it is a belief that no big or important work is done during the Krishna Paksha. It is said so because at this time the powers of the moon become weak and darkness prevails. So that's why all auspicious work like marriage is decided during Shukla Paksha.

3. Yoga- The third part of Panchang is Yoga. Yoga can make a deep impact on any person's life. In Panchang, 27 different forms of yoga are practiced. Vishkumbh, Dhruva, Siddhi, Variyaan, Paridhi, and Vyaghat are a few examples of their forms.

4. Karan- The fourth part of the Panchang is Karan. Half of the date is called Karan. Mainly there are 11 types of reasons. Of these, four are constant and seven change their places. Bav, Balav, Taitil, Nag, Vanijya, etc. are the types of Karan.

5. Vaar- The fifth part of Panchang is War. The period between one sunrise to another sunrise is called Vaar. Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, there are seven types of days. In these, Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday are considered auspicious.

For any shubh muhurat time and other predictions and consultations, you can directly talk to astrologer online/chat with astrologer online. 

Views: 96

Recent Blog